Posted by: Nathan | April 29, 2006

Vikes get New Duds

–I’m not foolish enough to believe that all of you care about uniforms as much as I do, but in case you didn’t notice, the Vikings recently unveiled their updated purple outfits. Of course, this is a marketing scam, but it’s always fun to see new unis.
–These aren’t too bad. There’s a lot more white on the home jersey, and I do like the purple pants for away, but ONLY FOR AWAY. Oh man, if even once they don those grape pants with the same colored helmet and jersey at home, it’s on. Don’t make me mock you, Vikings. The Seahawks know I can bring the noise. No matter what anybody says (Nate!) those boys from Seattle are the worst-dressed team in NFL history, and it’s not even a close fight. So Vikes, I suggest you avoid the monochrome trap; remember, it’s all about contrast.
What’s good
–The white shoulder stripes are plenty cool.
–They stuck with their color scheme and helmet, which always was one of the cooler helmet ideas in the league.
–I like the purple pants for away (again, more contrast!), plus it makes them look fiercer.
What’s bad
–More of those pant stripes that look like Nike swooshes (nice work, Reebok). I guess they’re supposed to be swords, but at least the colors look pretty good.
–The Minnesota Norsemen missed a chance to do right with their numbers what every other NFL team screws up when they have a color scheme that involves yellow, and that is to put the yellow as the main color of the numbers and then outline the yellow with the darker color on the road and white at home. This makes the numbers visually pop rather then making them look all blurry from a distance. The Chiefs, Chargers, and Redskins, all struggle with the same problem. My friends, follow the example of the Rams‘ or the Saints‘ home jerseys, or at least the Packers who didn’t bother with any yellow outline at all–note how easily read those white-on-green numbers are.
–I always thought it was cool that the Vikings had completely different uniform styles when they played on the road vs. home–away jerseys had the over-the-shoulder pad stripes, while the purple home jerseys had the sleeve stripes. I guess there’s something to be said for continuity.

–Overall, these uniforms don’t look bad at all. I’ll give them a B. They’re not completely botched, and that’s the main thing.

Responses

  1. They are much more interesting than previous Vikings uniforms. Do I smell further rants against the Pukehawks uniforms as the NFL season approaches? I think so.

  2. You’re right, contrast is key. I do like the new uniforms. And also, the Viking’s do have a great helmet design…I always appreciated it.

    While we’re on the topic of specifics in Minnesota uniforms…I’m not a big fan of the font used for numbers on the Timberwolves’ post 1996 jerseys. The jagged points seem cheesy and unprofessional. (http://tinyurl.com/ondtp)

  3. I’m ashamed to admit that I’m a broken record, but something must be done. If you paraded around looking like a scuba-diver, I would hope your friends would tell you that you look like a complete idiot. How much more should we then raise a stink about the Seahawks’ revolting unis? All right, I promise not to mention this topic until September now.

  4. I still don’t understand what you are talking about. The Seahawks uniform is just fine, probably in the top half for appearance. I do agree with you, however; that the Redskins should wear their home uniforms at home and their away uniforms away. But, I think our agreement with this matter ends there. Sorry bud.

  5. Nate, there’s no accounting for taste, or should I say “taste?” I would rant more here but for the preceding promise.


Leave a Reply

Categories

