Posted by: Nathan | October 19, 2006

Rocky Mountain National Park

It was Sunday, September 3 when J and I could no longer resist the urge to pack up our Nissan and drive two hours north to Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. Ooh-wee, are we glad we did! It was a gorgeous sunny day (though rain was accurately forcasted for the afternoon), and we seized the opportunity to take a 6-mile hike near Bear Lake in the park’s southeast side. Here’s photographic proof.

 

 

 

rmnp01.JPG

Long’s Peak from afar.

 

rmnp03.JPG

A sweet waterfall.

 

rmnp04.JPG

Check out this pass between cliffs.

 

rmnp06.JPG

We’re way high up above Bear Lake and Lily Lake. Sweet.

 

rmnp05.JPG

Long’s Peak: ridonkulous.

 

rmnp07.JPG
Bear Lake; Mom and Dad, you remember this view.

 All of that was from one hike. No kidding. J and I hiked it the wrong way, so we ended up going four miles uphill and two down, but as you can see, it was worth every step.

Two weeks later, we were at it again: September 17, we woke up after two cloudy days in a row to find snow on the peaks. How could we resist another excursion to RMNP? This time, we took the long way around via Winter Park. We left later and it took an hour longer there and back, so we only had a baby hike. Still, it was amazing.

 rmnp08.JPG
This is just a roadside stop.

rmnp09.JPG
Again, just on the road. Incredible views througout this drive.

rmnp10.JPG
I think this is Shadow Mountain Lake just south of the park. Talk about a great place to sail.

rmnp11.JPG
Now we’re on a prairie in RMNP’s west side. Here’s where we heard the elk bugles–their mating call. We saw some too, but we didn’t stop to get close because it’s dangerous.

 rmnp12.JPG
I don’t remember where this is, but it’s beautiful.

We sure miss you all, but you can’t beat the scenery out here. Most of it is free too! J and I even get into RMNP for free through next September because we bought the year pass for $35; what a bargain! So, if you come to see us out here, you can bet you’ll see some of the astounding vistas.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. WOW! As outdoors-ey people, you guys are sure well-placed. And you take phenomenal pictures. Might I inquire for some full-sizers via e-mail?

  2. Wow, you make me want to pack up my Nissan and take the family 15 hours to these places as well. I can’t believe how great those pictures are. Nice work! I think I’d like to be burred at the bottom of Bear Lake. Or sprinkled over it. Whichever is cheaper (laws be spammed).

    Do you have more pictures? Regardless, would you ever consider posting some of them somewhere like Flickr so we can see them in their full-sized glory? I’m very jealous.

  3. I’ve changed my mind. Instead of being burred at the bottom of Bear Lake, I’d prefer to be buried.

  4. I’ve never thought about getting a cool Flickr hookup like you have, Jason, but I’ll look into it. Thanks for the compliments; I can’t claim all the credit for these shots–J’s the better photographer (half of these are her shots), and God’s responsible for the subject matter. Yes, we have more pics, and yes, we’ll get ’em out there one way or another.

  5. Yes indeed, Mom and I do remember that view. In fact it became my first desktop wallpaper at work when I got back from RMNP. When a workmate said “nice picture”, I opined that the single most important ingredient in the recipe for a great picture is great material to start with. So I also have to give God glory for the magnificent views that you’re providing here. Thanks for the peeks at the peaks, they weren’t very snow-covered when we were there. Can’t wait to see the rest of your pix.

  6. I’m definitely jealous, man. Meanwhile, in Minnesota…it’s already freezing and windy, with no snow and definitely no mountains! I agree with everyone else, the pics are very nice!

  7. ^ That was me up there…whoops.


Leave a Reply

Categories

