Posted by: Nathan | December 9, 2006

Forget it, Barry

All right, Mr. Bonds, let’s be clear on this homerun record issue. This season, you will most likely “break the record” in San Francisco, the only city pathetic enough to take you seriously and support you. Go ahead; hit the 756th homer. I won’t recognize it. In my mind you haven’t even surpassed Babe Ruth. You’re a poser. You’re a cheater, and we all know you are. I won’t even give you the record with an asterisk—to me, you didn’t break the record and you won’t.

I hope you wise up and retire so I never have to see your disgustingly-oversized, steroid-induced upper body crank out another meaningless homer. I hope you never make the Hall of Fame, and if I were a voter, you can bet I wouldn’t vote for you, Sosa, or McGuire because you all cheated. A lot. Over many years. And now baseball is crippled as a sport; I can’t take it seriously with so many obvious frauds on field continuing to receive accolades from the press. I’m not slurping up to you. Get out of baseball.

Responses

  1. 😦

  2. I don’t take back what I said, Barry, but I must say I’m surprised to find that you read my blog. You must be bored.

  3. Man, are you bitter! Jeez…Nathan, you’re probably right. He probably did cheat. But I’m not going to go as far you’ve gone…Would I vote him in? Yep, until I see absolute proof. I know it seems obvious that he’s done it, but I don’t think you can keep him away from the Hall without something tangible…

  4. Here’s why I think his record will stand, although *everyone* will know there’s an asterisk there. In a phrase, “new rules”. Minutes ago my manager asked me why an old change request was still waiting for closedown approval. When she had tried to approve it, the system threw an error because it was enforcing new rules that started Oct. 1. But the request was completed before Oct. 1 under the old rules.

    Similarly, retrofitting new rules into old situations in baseball wouldn’t work either. I have to blame the club owners’ deliberate lack of steroid rules in addition to blaming the players who allegedly took advantage of the lack of rules. It took congressional threat to get the owners off the dime on this important issue.

    So Bonds, Sosa and McGwire will have a lasting record of legacies that will *always* be mentioned by sports media in the same breath as a note about alleged steroid use. For the rest of time. Bonds should ‘fess up but he won’t, nor will his buddy (trainer?) who is in jail for him. So the record will be broken and we will all understand how it happened. And the infractions under the new rules should be dealt with even more severely than they have been, for the good of the game.

  5. Yeah, it was a pretty vitriolic post. Even so, I disagree with both of you. Either he cheated or he didn’t. I’m not going to turn a blind eye and praise accomplishments that were greatly enhanced by steroids. I’ll try to tone down my bitterness; it’s just that each time I see a story about him, I get ticked. Plus, SportsCenter’s running that stupid countdown to “catching Aaron.” He’ll never catch Aaron, as far as I’m concerned.


Leave a Reply

Categories

