Posted by: Nathan | December 20, 2006

Carry-Out Tips?

I usually tip fairly well (at least I try to), but a real grey area for me in tipping etiquette is that of carry-out dining. When I eat in, I feel the tip is somewhat justified by my being waited on, brought refills, etc. However, if I call the order in and am in the restaurant only long enough to sign my name and grab a bag, should I still be tipping? And if so, how much? Your thoughts, dear reader, would be greatly appreciated as we at the AQ aren’t renowned for our social knowledge and manners (at least we’re not renowned for our rudeness…yet).

Responses

  1. This is a good question. I’ve previously taken an “I don’t care what the rule is, I’m not tipping for carryout” stance. But I don’t want to be the jerk who never tips like he’s supposed to either. Here’s one resource I found:

    http://ask.yahoo.com/20030709.html

    Apparently some good sources say you should tip 10% for carryout orders at a carryout place, and 15% for carry out at a primarily sit-down restaurant. As the link above says: “…even though you may be eating at home, the waitperson is still providing you a service by preparing and packing your food”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

