Posted by: Nathan | January 27, 2007

Little Miss Sunshine

As you might recall, I don’t have the greatest affinity for the Academy Awards, but I’m always mildly interested to see which films have garnered the approval of the arrogant elite. This year, I was surprised and pleased to see that Little Miss Sunshine was inexplicably nominated for Best Picture. DAP to the Academy for seeing the value in this movie.

If you’re looking for an original, quirky, hilarious and enjoyable movie, look no further than Sunshine. The diverse cast of actors is excellent, the plot is very enjoyable, and it’s a movie I’ve never seen before. I get tired of watching the same movie paraded about in different guises; this movie is unique. I will warn you of “adult themes” (especially at the end, which I would die before giving away*) and plenty of “F bombs” fall throughout this film. I don’t think I’d watch it with little L, Jason and JL, but do watch it. Super nerdy additional reason to watch it: Steve Carell‘s character is a Marcel Proust scholar; you’ve got to love literature-infused movies! Oh, and the bus is quite the character.

*Okay, if I were threatened with death, I would probably give away the ending. But only in that situation.

Responses

  1. I need to see this movie. I’ve heard so many good things about it. I really like the new theme, though I hope my theme change didn’t force you to take similar measures

  2. Nah, i had already thought about the theme change. I just didn’t realize how easy it is! If anything, you pushed me to do something I was too lazy to do otherwise.

    And you and M will love this movie.

  3. M and I saw this on Saturday night, and quite enjoyed it. The movie is really genuine and sweet, in spite of the various maladies that befall the family. Every one of the actors is superb. Even Tim Watley was good;)I was especially fond of the Greg Kinnear-Steve Carrell pairing. The contempt they have for each other is hysterical.

    That said, I’m glad I saw it, and it was refreshing, but it’s not one that I’d clamor to see more than once.

  4. Glad you enjoyed! As for J and me, we’re going to buy this bad boy. I wish it would’ve won Best Picture, but oh well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

