Posted by: Nathan | August 3, 2007

35W Bridge

35w.jpgBy now, you all have heard plenty about the shocking and horrifying collapse of the I-35W bridge just north of downtown Minneapolis. Most of you who read this blog have lived in or frequently visited the Twin Cities, and consequently have crossed this bridge that now lies in the Mississippi. I cannot count how many times I drove across it; as soon as I heard the news, I knew exactly what bridge it was, where, and what the view was from that bridge.

With all disasters come questions, but I will save them for the media who have latched onto this story with all the compassion of a bulldog. My heart goes out to the families and loved ones of the lost. My brother, a good friend, all my professors from college, and many other friends and acquaintances reside in Minneapolis. Thank God, Justin and L are all right.

I know that deadly tragedies happen every day in this fallen world; this particular one is affecting me strongly because it hits so close to home. I don’ t have much to offer the residents of Minneapolis, victims of the collapse itself or its aftermath, but I’m praying for you. I’m praying.

[Photo courtesy of this website.]

Responses

  1. Obviously, Wednesday was a very hard time for everyone in the Cities. When I heard about the bridge collapsing, the initial word was that 100+ cars were in the Mississippi carrying who knows how many bodies. This was especially scary because I was about to leave for a Twins game from south Minneapolis, but other friends were coming to it from all sorts of directions. Communication was incredibly spotty because of the signal jamming, but in short, I ended up going to the game while most of my friends turned back because I was close and I wanted to find the two friends who should’ve been crossing that bridge at about that time and couldn’t be reached at the time. Meanwhile my phone was constantly buzzing with voicemails, text messages and phone calls from friends/family. Once I got to the game, I kept calling my missing friends but it was impossible to get through and I didn’t know where they were sitting. After about an hour of searching, I finally received word that they had reached the stadium and turned back to go home, which gratefully ended my search. It was definitely a time to trust God and I appreciated the thoughts and prayers sent up by the many people who cared enough to make sure I was okay. In the end, though, I think it’s good to keep this in perspective; it could’ve been much, much worse. Not to diminish the severity of what happened, but it’s pretty miraculous there weren’t more deaths. God’s common grace was there, no doubt.


Leave a Reply

Categories

