Posted by: Nathan | October 10, 2007

Eschatology Returns, part Deux*

Not to be repetitive or say the same thing more than once, but last week’s sermon at Flatirons was terrific—in fact, it was among the best of my life. Even though the Second Coming I accidentally predicted didn’t take place, the message about it was amazing. Jim answered a lot of really tough questions and reconciled some things that I had often wondered about, especially how to reconcile the “Sheep and Goats” passage with Ephesians 2:8-9. It was such an encouraging sermon; if you want to listen to it, it’s “XFC: Heaven vs. Hell.”

*Or should I say “Dieu?”

Responses

  1. “Among the best of my life”?! I’ll have to listen somehow. What sheep and goats passage are you referring to?

  2. Matthew 25:31-46. What always troubled me about this passage is the glaring fact that the Lord’s judgment here is based solely on deeds (“I was hungry and you gave me something to eat…”). Jim unites this passage with the justification by grace amazingly well.

    As an aside, if you’ve never heard Keith Green’s rendition of this same passage (“The Sheep and the Goats”), it’s quite powerful, especially when it leads into “Asleep in the Light,” perhaps his best song.


Leave a Reply

Categories

