Posted by: Nathan | November 10, 2007

Stumble Upon Discoveries

Putting off my much more important homework to do this, I bring you some of my favorite discoveries via Firefox’s most excellent add-on, Stumble Upon. If you’re not using Firefox by now, seriously, this should be the proverbial straw and camel thingy.

Worst Analogies Ever Written in a High School Essay. “…like a Hefty bag filled with vegetable soup.” Wow.

Mitch Hedberg One-liners. The guy’s hilarious. “I’m against picketing, but I don’t know how to show it.” Me too. PG-13 for language content.

Classy Insults. PK’s read these, too. The ones involving Churchill are always fantastic.

Surrealist Pictures. Truly incredible. I think I might pick up one of these.

World Geography Game. This is fun! After a few rounds, I realized how poor my world geography was.

One Person’s List of the 100 Best Novels. Take ’em or leave ’em. No surprise Proust is #1 these days.

Baseball Pitches Illustrated. Don’t know a curveball from a slider? This will help…moderately.

How to be a Successful Evil Overlord. This page is hard on the eyes, but he’s got a lot of practical advice.

Mr. Picassohead. Go nuts.

Ultimate Rejection Letter. I have a feeling this might be me in a few years.

I’ll probably make this a fairly regular feature on AQ; I’ll post whenever I have enough worthy content to pass onto you, faithful reader.

Responses

  1. This is excellent, my friend. I’ve signed up and stumbled upon a few good sites already.

    That world geography one is cool, though I wish it were a bit bigger. Serbia and Lebanon, among others, are tough to see.

  2. True that. I has Lichtenstein once. D’oh! I also realized that I don’t know one African country from another (excepting Egypt, Morocco, and South Africa), I don’t know where Canadian cities are, and Eastern Europe is a huge mystery. But then again, that’s a good reason to play the game!

    As for the list of “best novels,” I’ve read 32 out of the 100. Still have a long way to go! Oh, and what is Harry Potter doing on this list? I love those books, but there are myriads more deserving.

  3. I’ve loved Mitch Hedberg for years! Had you never heard of him before this website? In order to get the full force of his comedy, you’ve got to hear him deliver his jokes…it adds another level of hilarity. Let’s just say that you may be able to detect why he died at a very young age because of an overdose..

  4. A regular AQ feature? Sounds great.

    It didn’t hit me who Mitch Hedberg was until I recognized the donut receipt joke. Then I googled him and realized I’ve listed to a few of his live standup CD’s before. Good stuff.

    I loved many of the quotes on that page, but for some reason the Frito one made me laugh the most: “I can still see my dad with the apron on, better flip that frito, dad, you know how I like mine.”

  5. I come to your blog to play the Geography game all the time during lunch! I love it, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

