Posted by: Nathan | April 15, 2008

Cinnamon Bun Coffee-Mate

Here at Ahab’s Quest we pride ourselves on staying abreast of the latest in Coffee-Mate flavorology. Naturally, when we saw a the new Cinnamon Bun flavor at our local Super Target, we couldn’t say no. I should begin by saying that I’m not a huge cinnamon guy. I do enjoy cinnamon-flavored food stuffs on occasions, but despite Jerry’s great line in “The Dinner Party,”* I haven’t found cinnamon all that great. However, I do love cinnamon rolls, so I was ready for anything.

What really intrigued me about this flavor was the “bun” aspect. Anybody can make something taste like cinnamon, but to make something liquid taste like something cinnamon, sweet and and made of dough? I had my doubts. When I first tried it, I thought it nothing extraordinary. It tasted like cinnamon with a little undefinable something else thrown in. The next day, though, I added more ‘Mate to my morning coffee and–lo and behold!–it tasted like a cinnamon bun.

How they accomplished this feat, I know not. With the Cinnamon Bun CM in my coffee, it tastes somewhat like I just dunked a cinnamon roll into my coffee, which is something I love to do anyway. One tastes the cinnamon bunny-ness, but it’s never overwhelming. If I liked cinnamon in general, I’m sure I would love this flavor. As it is I still enjoy it, though it’s not one of my favorites. The flavor of the ‘Mate is fine, but I wish I didn’t have to put so much into my morning brew. The best flavors are yummy whether the amount of creamer is large or small. Still, I’m planning to add it to my general rotation. 7.2/10, B.

Take my word on it, reader: it’s worth a try, even if you buy only one bottle.

*Jerry: I beg your pardon? Cinnamon takes a back seat to no babka. People love cinnamon. It should be on tables at restaurants along with salt and pepper. Anytime anyone says, “Oh This is so good. What’s in it?” The answer invariably comes back, “Cinnamon”. “Cinnamon”. Again and again. Lesser babka – I think not.

Responses

  1. Definitely going to have to try that now!
    I bought a bottle of Italian Sweet Creme Coffee Mate last week, and wasn’t impressed. Something about the smell displeases me, and then something about the taste (although less so). I wish I could describe what I don’t like about it, but I simply have to not recommend it. I’m still finishing the bottle, so it’s not THAT bad though.

  2. Mix the eggnog with the cinnamon bun … ahhhhhh mmmmmmm taste bud heaven!

  3. really? i found it weird. see im obsessed with starbucks cinnamon dolce lattes and just a general cinnamon fan so i thought i would try this. this was my first coffe mate purchase altho i use the little cups when i get coffee from like 7-11 but this had these really intense kinda bite to it, like a spiciness that was really undrinkable. it was so bad i had to throw the whole bottle away. thankfully it was on sale. i hope french vanilla isnt like that cause i will try that


Leave a Reply

Categories

