Posted by: Nathan | February 26, 2009

Lent 2009

As you probably already know, yesterday was Ash Wednesday, which means that Lent is officially upon us again. One of these years, I’d really like to attend and Ash Wednesday service. I think it would be neat to wear the ashes on my head for a day. Anyhoo, once again J and I are participating in the Lenten tradition of changing your life a bit in memory of Jesus’ fasting in the desert. J has decided to abstain from pop this year. I, on the other hand, have decided to add something to my life to celebrate Lent.

I’ve been meaning to start memorizing Scripture for a while now. I know it’s something I should be doing, and there are many times when the few verses I do know have helped me greatly. I’d like to give God more verses to bring to my mind when I’m in need of him. So, I’m going to memorize a verse each week this Lent, and hopefully it will carry on into my regular life and become a habit. Yes, I realize one verse a week isn’t much, but I know it will help. This week I picked John 16:33: “I tell you these things, so that in me you can have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” I love how emphatic and hopeful that last part is.

I hope this Lent will be a frutiful and blessed one for you regardless of your beliefs.

Responses

  1. Just want you to know I love your reading your blog… It’s good to keep in touch at least a little with what is going on with you guys. Let me know how the memorizing goes… Such a good choice !! I need to work on that too 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

