Posted by: Nathan | April 27, 2009

Plan B

The other shoe finally dropped the other day, and it fell heavily. I received my fifth and final rejection letter from my alma mater, so I won’t be attending any PhD program this coming autumn. To be honest, I felt rather stoic about it, though it is a dream deferred. I had already given up hope a few weeks back. It didn’t feel like I was going to get in. The head of the department kindly offered me the opportunity to find out why I was rejected (read both sarcastically and sincerely); I’m going to take him up on it later.

So, what now? That’s what J and I were thinking. We’d been waiting for months to find out what our lives would look like and had been putting lots of potential plans on hold for too long. The immediate question we faced was, do we stay in Colorado? The longer I am away from the Midwest, the more I miss it. I like its sensibility and sincerity. However, the Centennial State has factors working in its favor also: we both have jobs, we know (some) people, and we might be able to purchase a house. For those reasons, we’re staying in the greater Denver area, at least for a few more years.

As for me, I do not intend to work at the bank any longer than necessary. It’s not a terrible gig, but it’s hardly my vocation. I’m going to try to get an ad junct position at a local college if I can. I know some people there already, and, as we all know, it’s not what you know…

Sure, it’s disappointing to be turned down, but perhaps it’s not so bad. It’s very difficult to get a job in higher education these days, so maybe a wait will help me in the long run. This will be especially true if I can publish a bit and get some teaching experience in the meanwhile. We’ll keep you updated on what’s happening out here. Thank you deeply for all the prayers, wishes, and kind thoughts that were sent our way recently, and for those of you who can/wish to, you’ve got some extra time to come visit us. There are one or two cool things to do, I hear. Oh, and there are mountains.

Responses

  1. I’m impressed by your perspective and grace, my friend. I know this is something you’ve worked very hard for, and that it’s a definite disappointment. We’re excited to see what God has for you and J next. On the (admittedly un-luminated) bright side, M and I look forward to hopefully visiting you, J, and Lu dog in CO. I hear there are some pretty impressive sights.


Leave a Reply

Categories

