Posted by: Nathan | November 15, 2009

Caramel Apple: The New Holiday Coffee-Mate

The other day on our weekly trip to the grocery store, I took a peep at the holiday Coffee-Mate (CM) display. I have already polished off my first bottle of holiday ‘mate–Peppermint Mocha, of course–so it was time for another bottle. I was planning on grabbing some Pumpkin Spice, which is my second favorite holiday Coffee-Mate, but then something caught my eye. It was a new kind of holiday Coffee-Mate: Caramel Apple! Naturally, I had to buy it and write my review of it for you, dear coffee-drinking reader.

Caramel Apple CMI had my hesitations about buying it. First of all, I’m not sure how Christmas-y Caramel Apple is. I’ve never had a caramel apple outside of October. However, it’s not Christmas CM; it’s holiday CM, which can include Halloween, I guess, though it didn’t appear until November. Second, I was unsure about how good apple would taste in coffee. I’m already a fan of Vanilla Caramel CM; it’s part of my regular rotation, so I knew that caramel + coffee = yum. But apple? I was skeptical.

However, Caramel Apple CM is quite tasty. It blends well with the coffee and doesn’t overwhelm it (depending on how much you use).You taste the apple first, but there’s a good mixture of caramel taste in the background. The apple flavor isn’t too strong, which I think would ruin it; it is subtle but definitely present. The caramel is always present but grows stronger as you sip. After you swallow, there is a nice combination of both flavors that stays on the back of your tongue. It’s sweet and yummy.

Compared to the other holiday Coffee-Mates, it fares well. For me, it is tastier than Gingerbread (ugh), Egg Nog, and Pumpkin Spice. It goes without saying that Peppermint Mocha is the absolute best, so Caramel Apple jumps from obscurity all the way into second place. I didn’t expect it to be that good, but it is surprisingly yummy.

Even though it doesn’t taste like Christmas, Caramel Apple Coffee-Mate is definitely worth giving a try. It adds the right amount of flavor to your morning cuppa without taking over, and the apple and caramel have some synergy. I recommend taking a bottle home and giving it a try, but if you’re running out of time in the holiday season and can buy only one bottle of CM, buy Peppermint Mocha.

Responses

  1. I actually saw this at HyVee last year too. Glad to hear that it’s good stuff, and also glad to hear that Peppermint Mocha still reigns.

  2. What would we do without your reviews? I certainly never would have tried caramel apple in coffee!

    (although, truth be told, I stopped drinking coffee now that I am in year 2 of teaching – I didn’t want to always be known as the teacher with the stinky breath…and first graders sure let you know it when it stinks!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

